top of page

Glittery Week 2 Reflections

A snapshot of Week 2 in #eme6414 Web 2.0

This week was more of a growth week for me in terms of Web 2.0 tools. Last week I looked at tools I was pretty familiar with, so this week I wanted to challenge myself to try out new Web 2.0 technology.

The three platforms I'd like to focus on for purposes of this reflection are Reddit, Instagram, and Periscope.

Reddit

I created my first Reddit account and joined the EME6414 Reddit Group!

Reddit still has a dark-web vibe in my opinion, and the interface design is very unattractive. For those reasons I had not previously engaged with that social media platform, but in an effort to stick to my challenge I created an account.

Overall I still am not impressed with the platform. While there may be professional benefits, I found most subreddits to be full of trolls and people sharing biased opinions instead of facts.

I think Reddit would be useful for personal interests and research, such as looking into Photoshop Battles and lurking Ask Reddit but I am struggling to still see the professional value.

If you are super into Reddit please comment on my subreddit post sharing best practices!

Instagram

Instagram is the social media account I use the most, I am absolutely addicted! However, I had not explored using Instagram through a blogger lens. I made the Always Add Glitter Instagram account and blogged about my thoughts on Instagram being the best platform to facilitate community and connections.

Thus far Instagram has been great. I introduced myself and the Always Add Glitter brand via a picture post, but have yet to post stories because I've been a hot mess the last few days. I feel pressure to look great and have an engaging background for stories but that has not yet been the case! Stay tuned for more story action this weekend as I discuss how to add glitter to road trips and how to add glitter to traveling with friends via Instagram stories!

Did you make an Instagram account this week? Follow always_add_glitter and I will follow back!

Periscope

I still am new to the system and hope to share some live makeup tutorials in the coming weeks. I am most interested to see how Periscope facilitates community engagement with live videos. I think Instagram does a great job of showing community comments directly on the live stream feed, so I will compare the two experiences and share my thoughts in a blog post.

Have you used Periscope before? If so, what are your thoughts? If not, do you see any benefit to using Periscope versus Facebook Live, Instagram Live, or IGTV?

This weekend we are taking a break from moving and heading to one of our favorite cities, Nashville (NASHVEGAS BABY!!!)

I plan on using the 6+ hour drive to plan content for next week so stay tuned, some vlogs may be coming your way!

XO,

Michelle


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page