top of page

How to add glitter when shopping for beauty products

After watching my Save or Splurge IGTV segment, are you interested in the beauty products I use?

Below I've shared my favorite Save and Splurge products based on the categories I touched on in my IGTV video.

If you have any questions on how to use products, where to find products or anything else related to beauty please feel free to reach out via the comments below!

Primer

  • Save

  • ​If you're looking for a great glow and/or you have dry skin, you definitely want to pick a dewy primer that has a slight glowy pigment to give your face a pretty base. A great glowy save primer is the PHYSICIANS FORMULA Spotlight Illuminating Primer! However if you have oily skin I've found it won't block your oil for a full 8-hours, so a setting powder touch up may be needed mid day.

  • If you have oily skin and/or large pores, there is an excellent product available on Amazon Prime (my lifesaver) that works wonders on pores and oil! Check it out here.

  • Splurge

  • ​The ultimate glow go-to primer is 100% the BECCA Backlight Priming Filter. It makes the face look so gorgeous, I'll sometimes only wear my BECCA primer and setting powder for a luminous natural look! This is a go-to for me during the winter when I'm missing my sunkissed summer glow.

  • This next primer is my HOLY GRAIL. Whenever gal pals ask me which primer I use I always send them this product. This primer helped my makeup stay #flawless in Las Vegas for 12 hours (partying poolside all day then at the club all night) and it even looked great when I woke up the next morning! (Sidenote: ALWAYS wash your makeup off every night. Vegas was a whirlwind and normally I'm great about washing my face. But, it made for a great product test!) Josie Maran's Surreal Skin Argan Finishing Balm is the GOAT primer and one I will use always and forever. It provides great coverage for oily skin but also moisturizes dry skin #magic.

Foundation

Eyeshadow

  • Save

  • ​Yet again PHYSICIANS FORMULA comes up again on my list of favorite save products. The Shimmer Strips Nude Collection is a great basic eyeshadow pallet and a good introduction to blending nudes.

  • Splurge

  • ​Man oh man, this was hard. I have so many favorite pallets right now that I'm loving! My current obsession is Colour Pop's You Had Me At Hello pallet. Stunning colors, great pigment and little creasing make this product a must have summer staple.

  • I also love my Urban Decay Naked Basics pallet, it has great colors for work and the colors stay on all day!

Bronzer and Blush

  • Save

  • Blush - CoverGirl TruBLEND Blush in Light Rose makes my heart flutter! May require re-application after about 5 hours but that's what you get with a save product.

  • Bronzer - PHYSICIANS FORMULA Butter Bronzer is a great save product and my go-to bronzer for everyday wear! I also really like the application sponge it comes with, so it's a great product to leave in the car, in the purse and in the makeup bag.

  • Splurge

  • Blush - NARS Orgasm Blush is my go-to every day. It's the perfect blend of shimmer and pigment and lasts as long as I need it to! Seriously LOVE this. They have over 30 shades so if Orgasm is too peachy and pink for your taste you can explore so many other options!

  • Bronzer - This bronzer has taken over the beauty world - so many beauty bloggers swear by BENEFIT COSMETICS Hoola Matte Bronzer. I do as well, but I think the PHYSICIANS FORMULA bronzer is a close second (and half the price!)

Setting Powder

  • Save

  • Neutrogena has great products at a save price, and their SkinClearing Mineral Powder is a fantastic product! It gives the face a nice matte look without being too heavy on the pores. Love this product!

  • Splurge

  • For all my glittery gals with oily skin who want extra coverage (though I found Neutrogena was similar in use) I have the solution! MAC Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation provides 100% matte coverage. Over liquid foundation this may look too heavy, so only use this if you are very oily or need extra coverage (like when you live in FL and its 99% humidity and 94 degrees)

  • When talking about translucent setting powder, I love the TARTE Smooth Operator™ Amazonian Clay Finishing Powder. It helps blend your whole look together and gives you great oil coverage without adding pigment. Also my go-to!

Mascara

Makeup Brushes

  • Save

  • ​Real Techniques is a great brand riiiight at the cusp of a save products because you can snag them on sale, at Marshalls/TJ Maxx and in bundles with other brushes. I have lots of Real Techniques brushes and sponges and think they work great for powder-based applications and primer applications. However, I'd be wary using these brushes to apply liquid foundation because they may leave brush strokes on your face. Some bundles I recommend are the Flawless Base set, the Eyeshadow Blending set and the Travel Bundle (love the pouch it comes with!)

  • Splurge

  • My foundation brush is from Sephora's line and if you're interested in doing an overhaul of your brushes their

  • is the perfect starter kit! This set contains: Foundation brush, Concealer brush, Powder brush, Buffing brush, Detailed concealer brush, PRO Team brush tutorial and a Pebbled faux leather pouch. Hello steal!! I also love my MAC 159 Brush for highlighter application. It's fantastic!

WOW this was so fun to put together! I may or may not have compiled an Ulta cart and am about to click checkout so I can stock up on half these products... whoops! 0:-)

Again, if you have any questions on how to use products, where to find products or anything else related to beauty please feel free to reach out via the comments below!

Happy saving and splurging!

XO,

Michelle


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page